Your season guide to the 2022 Danish F4 Championship

Since its inception in 2017, Danish F4 has proven to be a popular choice with young drivers looking to gain experience in F4 machinery, without breaking the bank. Having seen more of the international spotlight this year, the series continues to attract a healthy mix of young rookies and older amateur drivers. Here is F1 Feeder Series guide to the 2022 Danish F4 Championship.

By Oorjit Mishra

Danish F4 is unique in a world of increasing budgets and a focus on cutting-edge equipment, as the series sees modern F4 cars sharing the track with older F5 cars, which are Formula Ford and Formula Renault 1.6 cars with added aero elements. Unlike other F4 series, Danish F4 will not be using the new halo-clad cars for this season, instead retaining the older Mygale M14-F4 chassis. 

Danish F4 has an impressive alumni, including IndyCar driver Christian Lundgaard, Indy Lights drivers Christian Rasmussen and Danial Nielsen Frost, as well as F2 driver and Mercedes junior Frederik Vesti.

Formula 2 driver Frederik Vesti formerly competed in Danish F4 | Credit: Formula Motorsport Ltd


Perennial frontrunners FSP Racing take to the grid with a pair of F4 cars, driven by two young rookies. Ireland’s Alyx Coby (Car #99) will be one of four female drivers on the grid this season. The 17 year-old makes the step up from karting, having raced in the X30 class last year. She’ll be joined Mika Abrahams (Car #29), a 13 year-old karter from South Africa, who’ll make his car racing debut when he turns 14. 


Team FormulaSport, who made their debut in the series midway through last season, return for 2022. Sebastian Gravlund (Car #35) remains with the team for the season, having scored a single podium in the final round last year. He’s joined by Theodor Jensen (Car #33), who makes his car racing debut this season.

Henriksen Racing

The father-daughter duo of Peter Henriksen (Car #16) and Michella Rasmussen (Car #15) return for 2022, having made their debut in the series last year. Rasmussen finished 18th in the standings last year, while Henriksen was 13th, with two podiums.

Michella Rasmussen continues with Rasmussen Racing | Credit: Formel 4 DK

MP Racing

MP Racing (no relation to the Dutch Formula 2 team), will make its debut in the series this year, running a single-car effort for Magnus Pedersen (Car #12). Pedersen will make his car racing debut in 2022, having reached the Rotax Max Challenge Grand Finals last year.

SD Racing

SD Racing will return to the championship for this season, having made their debut last year. Frederik Stena (Car #11), stays with the team for the season, having driven 5 rounds with them last season, having finished 12th in  the standings last year with two podiums. 

STEP Motorsport

STEP Motorsport will join the F4 Denmark grid for this season, and will run a two-car effort this year. Julius Dinesen (Car #17), is another young driver making the step up from karts this year, having raced in the OK Junior class last year. Victor Nielsen (Car #50), joins him, having finished 4th in the Electric class of the Rotax Max Grand Finals last year. Nielsen also has touring car experience, having raced 3 rounds of the Yokohama 1600 Challenge in 2021.

Julius Dinesen steps up from karting and joins the new STEP Motorsport squad | Credit: Julius Dinesen

Mads Riis Racing

Mads Riis Racing will make its debut this year, running a single car effort for, you guessed it, Mads Riis (Car #7). He makes the step up to F4 this year, having finished 3rd in the F5 standing last year.  

Mads Hoe Motorsport

Reigning champions Mads Hoe Motorsport continue in the Formula 5 class this season, with the popular Mads giving up his driving duties to focus on running the team for his sister, Mille Hoe (Car #56). She finished fourth in the F5 standings last year, with 4 podiums, and was 8th in the overall standings.

Sonderskov Motorsport

Line Sonderskov (Car #39) will drive her 3rd season in the championship this year, racing for her own Sonderskov Motorsport. She finished 5th in the F5 standings last year, with 3 podiums.


Rytteriet will make a return to the championship for 2022, having not raced in 2021. Owner-driver Niels-Ejnar Rytter (Car #49) will drive his 4th season in the F5 category, though he has a wealth of experience in low power single-seaters, having made his Formula Ford debut in 2007.  

W Series graduate Juju Noda leading at Padborg Park | Credit: Noda Racing


  1. 7th-8th May – Padborg Park, Padborg 
  2. 11th-12th June – Sturup Raceway, Svedala
  3. 25th-26th June – Jyllandsringen, Silkeborg
  4. 13th-14th August – Ring Djursland, Pederstrup
  5. 11th-12th September – Padborg Park, Padborg
  6. 8th-9th October – Jyllandsringen, Silkeborg

Format and Points System

Race weekends will be conducted with a 3-race format. There will be a qualifying session on Saturday, which sets the grid for Race 1. Race 2’s grid is set by the results of Race 1, with the top 8 positions reversed. Race 3’s grid is set by the average finishing positions from Race 1 and 2. 

Points will be handed out in the following format:


Header photo credit: Mygale Cars


Make a one-time donation

Make a monthly donation

Make a yearly donation

Choose an amount


Or enter a custom amount


Your contribution is appreciated.

Your contribution is appreciated.

Your contribution is appreciated.

DonateDonate monthlyDonate yearly

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s