Your season guide to the 2023 Danish F4 Championship

As one of the smaller national Formula 4 championships, Danish F4 has produced impressive talent over its six seasons. Who can follow in the footsteps of Christian Lundgaard and Frederik Vesti? Here is Feeder Series’ season guide to the 2023 Danish F4 championship.

By Jan Husmann

Last year’s champion Julius Dinesen has left the series for Spanish F4, but most of the drivers from last season stay on for the 2023 campaign alongside a couple of exciting rookies. 

Out of the thirteen names on the entry list for round one, twelve are Danish, with German Formula 5 entry Oliver Kratsch being the only exception. But the small Nordic country has proven time and time again to produce exciting motorsport talents, which makes the Danish F4 an intriguing proving ground for the local hopefuls. 

The calendar

For 2023, Danish F4 will combine its grid with Formula Nordic, making two stops on Swedish tracks for the first time since its inception. The highlight of the season will be the night race during the fifth round at Padborg Park. 

  • Round 1: Padborg Park (29–30 April)
  • Round 2: Anderstorp Raceway (12–13 May)
  • Round 3: Karlskoga Motorstadion (3–4 June)
  • Round 4: Ring Djursland (2–3 September)
  • Round 5: Padborg Park (15–16 September)
  • Round 6: Jyllands-Ringen (30 September–1 October)

The format

A Danish F4 race weekend consists of one practice session, one qualifying session and three races.

For Race 1, the qualifying order sets the grid. The Race 1 results then determine the grid for Race 2, with the top eight drivers reversed. For Race 3, the grid is determined by the combined results of Race 1 and Race 2.

The same amount of points will be allocated for every race, with the winner taking home 25 points and tenth place receiving one point, analogous to Formula 1.

Teams and drivers

STEP Motorsport

Last year, STEP Motorsport won the championship with their rookie driver Dinesen. While he is preparing for his first season in Spanish F4, his 2022 teammate Victor Nielsen (#5) stays on with STEP Motorsport. 

The 15-year-old returns to the championship after six podium finishes in 2022 as he hopes to build on this success. He is also competing in the fully electric ERA championship.

Team FormulaSport

Last year’s runner-up in the drivers’ and teams’ championship Team FormulaSport returns with a three driver line-up. Theodor Jensen (#33) stays with the team after racking up one win and two additional podium finishes last year. 

Jakobsen finished second at the Rotax Max Challenge International Trophy in Le Mans | Credit: Danish F4

He is joined by Mathias Bjerre Jakobsen (#21) who had a successful 2022 in karting, finishing second at the Rotax Max Challenge International Trophy in Le Mans, and Morten Strømsted (#9), who took part in two rounds of Danish F4 in 2021. 


Driving for BAR, Mikkel Gaarde Pedersen (#7) returns to the series after competing in the final round of the 2022 championship. The 14-year-old also represented Denmark at the Motorsport Games in karting in the Sprint Junior category.

SD Racing

Frederik Stenå (#11) is also returning to the series after competing in eight rounds of Danish F4 over the last two seasons. His best finish so far was a second place at Sturup last year. He will look to improve on that in 2023.

MP Racing

After a promising rookie season Magnus Pedersen (#12) is back in Danish F4. The 16-year-old won multiple Danish karting championships in the past and scored five podium finishes in 2022.

Henriksen Motorsport 

Michella Rasmussen (#15) returns to the series for her third season with Henriksen Motorsport. She had a best finish of fourth in Djursland in 2022.

Mads Hoe Racing (F5)

The team of cult hero Mads Hoe (#46) returns to the series with three Formula 5 entries. After announcing to step away from the cockpit after last season, the 2021 Danish F4 champion continues on for another season. 

Alongside him are his younger sister Millie Hoe (#56) and German import Oliver Kratsch (#27). Millie Hoe returns for her second full season, while Kratsch will build on the experience of three rounds he competed in during 2022, as he starts his first full season in the series.

Sønderskov Motorsport (F5)

Line Sønderskov (#39) returns after a broken hand brought her 2022 season to a premature end. She has been part of the series since its inception and hopes to complete this year’s championship on track.

Rytteriet (F5)

Finally, Niels Ejnar Rytter (#49) returns for another season of Danish F4. He has been part of the Danish formula racing scene for a long time, making his Formula Ford debut in 2007.

Where to watch

The races of the first and fifth round will be live streamed on the Super GT Denmark YouTube channel. There is no announcement yet whether the other round will be broadcasted. 

All races will have live timing available on

Header photo credit: Danish F4


Make a one-time donation

Make a monthly donation

Make a yearly donation

Choose an amount


Or enter a custom amount


Your contribution is appreciated.

Your contribution is appreciated.

Your contribution is appreciated.

DonateDonate monthlyDonate yearly

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s